Cooking with all Things Trader Joe’s

Have you seen this cookbook?

This is definitely one of those why-didn’t-I-think-of-that moments.

I do most of my grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s (even got J hooked on the place), and almost every week, I look at their precooked lentils and think that would probably be a good thing for me to have on hand to add some fiber and protein to a quick weeknight meal.  Last week, I finally took the plunge and bought ’em.

Turns out, when I got home I had no idea what to do with them.  I Googled “lentil recipes” and got a lot of soup.  Don’t get me wrong, I love lentil soup, but I was looking for something a little quicker.  When Google got me nowhere, I turned to Gojee.  Gojee is a great site that allows you to type in ingredients you have or crave, and then it pulls recipes from all over the web based on those ingredients.

Eventually, I came across a Mediterranean Lentil Salad originally from Elly Says Opa!  I didn’t have sun dried tomatoes, but I did have cherry tomatoes, kalamata olives, and all the ingredients for the dressing.  Talk about cooking with all things Trader Joe’s…

I was hungry, so I opted to heat the lentils up in the microwave.  They can be eaten cold, but I knew warm lentils would absorb the dressing better.  After cutting up the tomatoes and olives, I tossed them in with the lentils and poured the dressing over it all.

A little feta on top and a bed of arugula were the perfect complements to the lentil salad.  Baba ganoush and a handful of TLC crackers rounded out my little Mediterranean feast.

What are your favorite Trader Joe’s exclusive items?

 

*Recipe note: If I made this again, I would go easy on the red wine vinegar in the dressing.  I used a little too much, which was fine when I first ate it, but really ruined the salad overnight.  When I went to eat the salad for lunch today, it was much too bitter.

Leave a Reply

